In ‘Piece 3’, all three fragments are heard together. Their introduction is staggered: the second fragment enters after the first, and the third fragment enters after the second. This re-establishes the spatial order of the fragments - each following the other – on the once intact disc. The composition is heard at the speed at which the source record is intended to be played: 78 rpm.


from My Heart is Broken in Three, released December 12, 2015


all rights reserved



John Harvey Ceredigion, UK

Harvey is a historian of art, visual culture, and sound art, and also a sound- and visual-art practitioner. His research field is the visual and sonic culture of religion, principally. He explores non-iconic attitudes to visualization and sonic articulations of religion by engaging visual, textual, and audible sources, theological and cultural ideas, and systemic and audiovisualogical processes. ... more

contact / help

Contact John Harvey

Streaming and
Download help